









TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD UNEP – GEF – MoEF&CC-ABS Project

"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions"

Introduction about the project

The Telangana State Biodiversity Board is implementing UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS Project title -"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions". The GEF project on ABS is the first ever global project - a programmme to access genetic resources, assess their economic value and share the benefits arising out of them among the local people. The project aims to assess and quantify the economic value of biological resources at local, state and national levels using appropriate methodologies to determine benefit sharing which will help in better implementation of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and its Rules 2004.

Report on "One day District level Training programme on Biological Diversity Act,2002, TSBDB Rules, 2015 with focus on Access and Beneft Sharing provision" held on 17-09-2016 at TSBDB office, Chandravihar, Nampally, Hyderabad Dist., Telangana:

Under the project the Board has created awareness to the local bodies and in 10 districts of Telangana State. As part of the project activity the Board has organized a district level training programme on 17-09-2016 at TSBDB office, Chandravihar, Nampally, Hyderabad Dist., Telangana.

OBJECTIVE OF THE TRAINING

To increase awareness among the local people, BMC Members in order to effectively implement the Biological Diversity Act -2002 and Telangana

State Biological Diversity Rules 2015 and to achieve biodiversity conservation through implementing ABS mechanisms in the Telangana State.

Mr. G. Sailu, State Project Coordinator, Telangana State Biodiversity Board welcomed the gathering and briefed about the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, Rules for access to biological resources and/ or associated knowledge and highlighted the need for conservation of biological resources from the exploitation. The State Project Coordinator has shared various experiences and interacted with the members of the BMC.

After that Dr. Shilpi Sharma, RBC, TSBDB, gave a brief discussion on need for conservation of Biodiversity and gave a detailed note the roles and responsibilities of the BMC's. The madam also requested the BMC members to make aware the public regarding the need for conserving the Biodiversity.

After that Mr. Deepak.R, Senior Field Research cum Education Officer, WWF India, Hyderabad gave a brief note on the conservation of wildlife and also gave note on the sustainable agriculture and its need. He also gave a key note on the conservation of the nature and the reactions of environmental pollution made by human and the consequences.

The training programme was concluded by discussions and clarified the doubts.

Photo Gallery

















The list of BMCs Chairman and Member secretaries present during the meeting:

S. No.	Participant name	Designation	BMC Name
1.	L. Balnarsaiah	Secretary	Peddakodur
2.	K. Venkatasai	Member	Peddakodur
3.	B. Raju	Member	Chandhpur
4.	S. Karunakar	Secretary	Chandhpur
5.	K. Srinivas	Member	-
6.	P. Balakishan	Member	-
7.	G. Vasu	Secretary	Obulapur
8.	K. Raju	Member	Obulapur
9.	M. Kranthikumar	Member	Obulapur
10.	K. Yellaiah	Chairman	Mailaram
11.	P.Laxmiramulu	Chairman	Jagiryala
12.	Tajuddin	Member	Munigapalli
13.	J. Ramesh	Secretary	Jagiryala
14.	T. Kanakaiah	Chairman	Kondamruga
15.	K. Prabhakar Reddy	Chairman	Magdumpoor
16.	A. Mallaiah	Member	Magdumpoor
17.	B. Thirupathi	Chairman	Siddannapet
18.	K. Raju	Member	Siddannapet
19.	B. Thirupathi	Secretary	Kundamraj palli
20.	D. Devisingh	Chairman	Madwar
21.	G. Mohan Reddy	Secretary	Madwar
22.	D. Sathaiah	Member	Madwar

22	L Varara Daddy	Chairman	Duridinahad
23.	L. Verara Reddy	Chairman	Buridipahad
24.	M. Gopal Reddy	Secretary	Buridipahad
25.	Ganganna	Member	Buridipahad
26.	B. Sidhaiah	Chairman	Hanmanthrao Pet
27.	P. Lalitha	Chairman	Dudyal
28.	K. Veer Shetty	Scratary	Dudyal
29.	Mallesham	Secretary	Nagadhar
30.	Deshaiah	Member	Nagdhar
31.	B. Kishtaiah	Member	Hanmanthraopet
32.	D. Raju	Secretary	Sangeeraopet
33.	T. Nagendhar	Member	Akkenapally
34.	B. Krishna Reddy	Secretary	Akkenapally
35.	Arshaiah	Member	Getlamalyala
36.	Sathaiah	Member	Sangeeraopet
37.	G. Balakishan	Secretary	Nangnur
38.	K. Raju	Member	Nangnur
39.	D. Eshwar	Chairman	Jakkapur
40.	B.Komuraiah	Member	Jakkapur
41.	K. Yadava Reddy	Member	Malyala
42.	J. Venkat	DBC	TSBDB
43.	Sanjeev	DBC	TSBDB
44.	G. Sailu	SPC	TSBDB
45.	R. Prasad Babu	S/TA	TSBDB
46.	K. Lavanya	FA	TSBDB
47.	G. Satheesh Kumar	Co.O	TSBDB
48.	Deepak R	SRF	WWF